Skip to content
November 22, 2012 / Blogless Anna

Her favourite colour is red

Miss B is currently avoiding all the summer dresses in her wardrobe and wearing skirts and t-shirts.  Choosing clothes is her domain.  It’s my responsibility to ensure there are clean clothes in the cupboard.  But as Miss B only has a handful of t-shirts, I’m currently not keeping up my end of the bargain!

So, I put my machine knitting and selfish sewing aside yesterday, and set to work on a girls t-shirt pattern.  The pattern I choose was the Hoops T-Shirt (pictured below on the right) from Ottobre 3/2012 .

Miss B was allowed to choose the knit fabric from my extensive stash.  I wasn’t surprised by her choice – red is her favourite colour.  The fabric is a Hilco Campan Knit (97% cotton and 3% elastane) from Earthgirl Fabrics.  The red and white stripe has sold out, but there are other colourways available.

I made size 104, which is one size bigger than Miss B’s measurements.  Room for growing?


Check out the stripe matching!

This was the first time that I’d applied neck binding on a t-shirt so the binding encloses the seam and it is stitched down on the right side (I don’t even know what this method is called!).  Although not perfect, I was happy with the result.  On previous knit necklines I’ve used Jorth’s neckline binding tutorial.

Rather than using ribbing for the binding, I made binding (read here… I burnt my fingers too many times to count!) from the t-shirt fabric.  For unknown reasons, I’m not a fan of ribbing.


The pattern suggested I use clear elastic tape to gather the sleeves head and hems, but as I didn’t have any, I improvised and shirred these areas (I used elastic thread in the bobbin of my machine).  It worked a treat!

The gathering on my sleeve hem isn’t as noticeable as in the magazine picture.  Before bed last night we had a ‘half-way through construction try-on’ and I was worried the sleeves would be too tight.  I then purposely removed the majority of the gathering when applying the binding.  Looking at the photo below, I think I over compensated.  Something to remember for next time, and yes, there will definitely be a next time!


Miss B is very happy with her new stripey t-shirt and Mr Blogless Anna’s commented “That looks like a shop brought t-shirt.”  High praise indeed.

And finally a word from our model, “Stop taking my photo”.



Leave a Comment
  1. Leith / Nov 22 2012 12:59 pm

    Can I have one of those tshirts please? I love it!

  2. Sarah / Nov 22 2012 8:41 pm

    How adorable! Lucky you went a size up, do you think it’ll still fit at the end of summer?

    • Blogless Anna / Nov 22 2012 10:36 pm

      I have all my fingers and toes crossed that it will still fit at the end of summer. Miss B has already chosen fabric for two more of these!

      • Sarah / Nov 23 2012 7:31 pm

        Brilliant, nothing better than them loving what you make :)

  3. Nikki / Nov 23 2012 8:33 am

    Awwww.. gorgeous. I reckon you should just go production-line with those t-shirts (BETTER than shop-bought!).

  4. Robyn / Nov 23 2012 5:46 pm

    So cute and I love her colour choice :)

  5. Felicity from Down Under / Nov 23 2012 7:58 pm

    I think that sort of binding is called a Chanel trim. It’s a nice alternative to ribbing, isn’t it? And it does look lovely.

    • Blogless Anna / Nov 23 2012 8:13 pm

      Thanks Felicity. Chanel trim, I will try and remember that. And yes, I think it’s a fabulous alternative to ribbing :)


  1. Hoops and bubbles on repeat | Blogless Anna...

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers

