Skip to content
May 17, 2013 / Blogless Anna

Alexa meets the known universe

Well, this was a Tessuti match made in heaven –  The Known Universe, a viscose and elastane jersey, and the Alexa T-Top Pattern.

I originally brought this fabric to made a sleeveless cowl neck top, so I was working with limited fabric (80cm), hence the elbow length sleeves.  And please excuse the posture/look on my face combo… it’s hard to smile and look natural when you are trying to suck in your tummy!

DSC_4844

My first version of this top, a medium, was a little big through the shoulders, bust and hips, but perfect for my waist (my thick waist shines again!).  My second attempt (this version!) was sewn up in a small but graded out to a medium in the waist.  I think I’ve found my ‘go to’ layering top.

DSC_4831

The shape of this top is lovely, but do you know what else I really love about this pattern?  It’s the seam allowances.  They are 1/4″ or 6cm and are designed for overlocking.  What can I say?  Simple pleasures people!

DSC_4836

And my lesson with this make… don’t sew when you have a sinus infection.  There will be miss cutting (and swearing), you will attached the neck binding to the wrong side on your first attempt, and what should have been a quick sew will take forever to make.  Right, enough said.

Pattern:  Tessuti’s Alexa T-Top Pattern
Size:  S in the shoulders, bust and hips and graded to a M in the waist
Fabric:  80cm of  The Known Universe from Tessuti (now sold out)
Alterations:  Grading from a S to a M in the waist

23 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. gcehanley / May 17 2013 5:51 pm

    Those colours are great on you Anna, and the scarf is amazing. One of yours too?

    • Blogless Anna / May 17 2013 6:10 pm

      No flies on you! Yes, the scarf is a made by me. It was one of the first thing I made on a knitting machine (at a class or course!).

  2. ZoSews / May 17 2013 9:00 pm

    Nice one! Love the scarf and jacket too :)

    • Blogless Anna / May 17 2013 10:29 pm

      Thanks Zoe. The jacket is an old faithful RTW and the cowl was the result of my first knitting machine workshop last year. I’m rather in love with the colour teal at the moment!

  3. sewbusylizzy / May 17 2013 10:18 pm

    Fabulous fabric. Love the layering!

    • Blogless Anna / May 17 2013 10:28 pm

      I’m such a layering girl… I liked the fabric on the bolt, but I LOVE it made up! I hope the jet lag has kindly left you :)

      • sewbusylizzy / May 17 2013 11:27 pm

        It has – but left me with ‘work lag’ this week!

      • Blogless Anna / May 18 2013 7:51 am

        Work lag, that must worse that jet lag. Hope you all feeling all sewbusylizzy soon.

  4. CherryPix / May 17 2013 11:17 pm

    Fabulous blue on you – and perfect styling!

  5. sewamysew / May 17 2013 11:57 pm

    great fabric, very you.

    • Blogless Anna / May 18 2013 7:53 am

      I didn’t realise how ‘me’ is was until it was all sewn up! I’m a bit addicted to this pattern. There will be more of these soon…

  6. Pella / May 18 2013 4:13 am

    You chose a beautiful colour for this> I know what you mean about seam allowances, isn’t it a little bit irritating cutting out and then trimming down?

    • Blogless Anna / May 18 2013 7:54 am

      If there are larger seam allowances I actually use my machine first and then overlock – twice the work. Can you believe I hadn’t even thought of trimming the seams? Thanks for the tip!

  7. Gjeometry / May 19 2013 2:16 pm

    That top is very pretty, look fabulous on you! I like that universe / space / planet fabric as well.

    • Blogless Anna / May 19 2013 9:30 pm

      Thanks. I’m so pleased with this make that I brought more fabulous fabric to make another.

  8. little betty / May 19 2013 10:35 pm

    Lovely work – looking forward to seeing the next installment of the Alexa top

    • Blogless Anna / May 20 2013 7:06 am

      Thanks Kristy. And lovely to see you on Sat. I hope you snapped up some delicious fabric to remember you weekend in Melbourne.

  9. suzy / May 20 2013 9:37 pm

    This is so lovely! I must check out that pattern, I need to make some t-shirts. And I know exactly what you mean about the seam allowances.

  10. thornberry / May 25 2013 5:18 pm

    If I ever got the opportunity I would steal that top – everything about it is perfect!

    • Blogless Anna / May 25 2013 5:24 pm

      You’ll need to get in line. One of my girlfriends has her eye on it too!

Trackbacks

  1. A modified Alexa T-Top | Blogless Anna...

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

